I want to repeat that our class and this space is a safe space for learning English. If you make mistakes we will not to judge you or scold you. We will help you! Don't worry 
Yuka Tsubota
6/8/2013 02:34:14 am

Hi everyone!
I have been doing my home work after I had a late breakfast.
I have a question about the No.2 - d. in the page 19.

I transcribe it below.

d. Joseph Pulitzer was thinking of his place in history when he conceived of the Pulitzer Prize.

· He already knew his place in history before he thought up the prize. (We have to correct this sentence)

In this first sentence use "when" and incorrect sentence use "before". I'm not sure about If we can say "before" because the background in this sentence is "Joseph Pulitzer was thinking".
So, it was progressive in the past. He conceived of the Prize and that moment he was thinking of his place in history.

I have two answer and still considering.
Answer A;
He was already thinking of his place in history before he thought up the prize.
Answer B;
He already knew his place in history when he was conceiving the prize.

Are these answer both correct or both incorrect?

Reply
Holly
6/8/2013 07:50:33 am

You two are considering the right words in your discussion. This is a very difficult sentence. I will give you a hint. There are many definitions of the verb "to think". Consider the different definitions of the verb in this sentence.

Reply
Layla
6/8/2013 04:17:55 am

Thanks for posting about our homework, Yuka! I'm stack in same point. But I think your answer B is fit on this sentence.
What do you think, others?

Reply
Yuka
6/8/2013 06:16:46 am

Thank you Layla!
By the way, I realized at the time in this blog shows PT time.
Three hours earlier than here.
But that's not a big problem. Thank you Holly! I like the picture of NYC. on the top page of this web site!

Reply
Yuka
6/8/2013 06:16:59 am

Thank you Layla!
By the way, I realized at the time in this blog shows PT time.
Three hours earlier than here.
But that's not a big problem. Thank you Holly! I like the picture of NYC. on the top page of this web site!

Reply
Holly
6/8/2013 09:17:44 am

I have fixed the time zone, Yuka. Thank you for pointing that out.




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    June 2013

    Categories

    All